top of page
About: Section Title

ANA Executive Committee

Rosario Casanova.jpeg


Rosario Casanova

Rosario Casanova is a Professional Land Surveyor, she has a master’s degree in Urban Planning and Land Development and a Doctorate degree in Land Surveying.

She has been professor at the Land Surveying Institute in Uruguay for almost 30 years, being the Senior Lecture of the Geomatic Department. She was the Director of this Institute since 2014 until 2020.

She has been professor and researcher of Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, Programa para América Latina y el Caribe, since 2005.

She is part of different academic networks related with the geographical information, especially she is the chair of the Academic Network of UN-GGIM: Americas and she is the vice-chair of Commission 2: Professional Education of International Federation of Surveyors (FIG).

She is currently serving as vice-President for the National Society of Professional Surveyors in Uruguay.


Macarena Pérez García

Geographer and Master in Human Settlements and Environment of the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile.

She has worked in the public sector in Chile in different functions with 11 years of experience. As of 2017 she assumed the role of Executive Secretary of the National System of Coordination and Territorial Information of Chile until October 2020. She has been teaching since 2011, teaching courses related to planning and territorial analysis in different Chilean universities. 

She currently serves as director of liaison of the Institute for Disaster Resilience (ITREND).

Fotografia Macarena Perez Garcia .JPG


Rigoberto Alejandro Moreno Vázquez

Rigoberto Moreno is Professor at the University of Guadalajara, at the University Center of Exact Sciences and Engineering, in the career of Engineering in Topography and Geomatics, as well as visiting professor at the University of the Pacific of Paraguay, in the Master in GIS and Remote Sensing.

He is a Design and Construction Technician, Topographic Engineer, Master in Water and Energy Engineering, Master in Geomatics and Geoinformation Engineering and PhD in Development.

He currently serves as Technical Secretary of the Innovation Committee of the Coordination of Transmission and Transformation Projects of the Federal Electricity Commission of the Government of Mexico.

He is a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers / IEEE, is a member of the Geosciences and Remote Sensing Society / GRSS, currently participates in the FIG working group "Climate Compass".

Advisory Board

Miriam Olivares, GISP

With over two decades of geospatial expertise, Miriam Olivares, GISP leads the GIS support services at Yale University, instructing and advising on geospatial applications to promote cutting-edge teaching and research. Her interdisciplinary collaborations, scholarly, and consulting work touch upon geospatial data management, GIScience, supply chain, natural hazards, and marine conservation. Olivares geospatial service includes membership in the Leventhal Map & Education Center's Board of Review at the Boston Public Library, and Connecticut GIO's GIS Strategic Plan and GIS Clearinghouse Workgroups. She co-founded and co-chairs GIS LATAM and served as a director on the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science board.


Dana J. Caccamise II

Ph.D., is The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) / National Geodetic Survey’s (NGS) Pacific Southwest Regional Geodetic Advisor.  He assists the geospatial community—including public- and private-sector surveyors, GIS professionals, engineers, and earth scientists—with the proper application of International and National Spatial Reference Systems.

Dana has graduate degrees in Earth Sciences, Geophysics, and Geodesy. The California Spatial Reference Center (CSRC), located at Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO) at the University of California San Diego (UCSD), is hosting his position. Dana also holds a Research Associate position in the SIO’s Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics (IGPP).

Charlotte D. Smith

Is a faculty member at the University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health and a visiting professor at the Western Institute of Technology and Higher Studies (ITESO). His research interests include microbial ecology and control of waterborne pathogens, and the use of geospatial statistics to explore the pathway from environmental exposures, including contaminated water, to acute and chronic diseases (e.g., diarrhea and /or kidney disease).

Dr. Smith has a bachelor's degree in Microbiology from the University of Michigan, a master's degree in Community Health from the City University of New York, and a doctorate in Environmental Health Sciences from the University of California, Berkeley. She is a member of GIS Latin America, the Organization of American States – Pan American Institute of Geography and History. She received the Jorge Matute Remus Award in 2019 and the Zak Sabry Mentorship Award in 2016.

bottom of page